cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
proAlexandr
New Contributor

MuteMe compatibility

Hi

I am a developer of Mute Me app (https://github.com/pixel-point/mute-me). Our users have a problem with a compatibility of Mute Me and GoToMeeting. When Mute Me sets a microphone muted GoToMeeting immediately unmutes it. I think it is an incorrect behaviour to unmute user's microphone without any notification and it behaviour makes impossible to control audio input devised by third-party applications.

For example, we would like GoToMeeting doesn't unmute a microphone automatically and ask a user if he/she wants to unmute an input device or not. Do you agree with this proposal?

Notes:

• To reproduce the issue you should download version 2.0.0rc-1 (or 2.0.0rc-2).
  • In order to mute an input device we use the AudioCore function `AudioObjectSetPropertyData` with AudioObjectPropertyAddress equals 

AudioObjectPropertyAddress propertyAddress = {
        kAudioHardwarePropertyDefaultInputDevice,
        kAudioObjectPropertyScopeGlobal,
        kAudioObjectPropertyElementMaster
 }

4 REPLIES 4
AshC
LogMeIn Contributor

Re: MuteMe compatibility

@proAlexandr  Sorry about that!  Unfortunately in your case, GoToMeeting may not be compatible with the MuteMe application.

TanelPoder
New Contributor

Hi, I had reported this issue to the MuteMe app developer. I'm using (paid) GotoWebinar a lot for doing webinars and I use my own screen recording solution (not GotoWebinar's). Every now and then I  need to mute the actual sound input channel on my mac (so that both Gotowebinar and my screen recorder would be muted ... whenever coughing or sipping water or whatnot). 

Currently the process is quite cumbersome for me, I mute GotoWebinar from its mute button and I have to later find and edit out these points in the video and this takes a lot of extra time. I need to use my own recording solution, gotowebinar's recording is not enough for my needs.