cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DC22
New Contributor

Deleting files gained through Emergency Access

My spouse used Lastpass's emergency access feature to get into my vault. (All worked as advertised.) All my passwords and secure notes ended up in spouse's vault. The "emergency" is over, and spouse would like to delete  my passwords/secure notes to uncluttered his vault. Is there any way to do this safely--either from spouse's end or mine? By "safely," we want to ensure that my original vault is not deleted, altered, etc. Thank you.

 

Tags (1)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
GlennD
GoTo Manager

Hi @DC22  

 

Your spouse can revoke access and the folder that was created in your account with his info should be removed. If any of it was manually copied into the account those entries can also be deleted.

 

 

Glenn is a member of the GoTo Community Care Team.

Was your question answered? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution.
Was a post helpful or informative? Give it a Kudo!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
GlennD
GoTo Manager

Hi @DC22  

 

Your spouse can revoke access and the folder that was created in your account with his info should be removed. If any of it was manually copied into the account those entries can also be deleted.

 

 

Glenn is a member of the GoTo Community Care Team.

Was your question answered? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution.
Was a post helpful or informative? Give it a Kudo!
avinashb
New Contributor

@GlennD - thanks for providing the answer - I couldn't find it any of the official documentation. 

 

If it is - can you kindly point me to it?

 

Ideally there should be a one title "What to do after the Emergency is over?"

 

Also - I couldn't find anything about 2FA in official documentation - which many users will realize only after the emergency happened and many times it is too late OR even if there is a way, it will be too hard for the loved ones to figure it out mainly because in most cases they are not as tech savy as the one member who is managing all the family's online presence.

 

Emergency Access is a great idea - but it feels like LastPass is not doing justice to the importance this feature deserves. If the loved ones cannot access the sites, it is like insurance that one expects to pay but doesn't hugely disappointing and hurting.

RachelO
Retired GoTo Contributor

Hi @avinashb,

 

Here's a support article showing how a LastPass account owner can revoke emergency access for a user: https://support.logmeininc.com/lastpass/help/how-do-i-revoke-emergency-access-for-a-user

 

Please note that being invited to have emergency access to someone's Vault is not the same as being granted access to their entire LastPass account. That is, if emergency access has been approved by the LastPass account owner, then the result will be that the emergency access user will have a new folder in their Vault containing all of the Vault items of the LastPass account owner. They will not need access to the person granting emergency access' MFA method for their LastPass account because they will not accessing the account, they will only have a new folder in their Vault containing the Vault items of the LastPass account owner who granted emergency access: https://support.logmeininc.com/lastpass/help/set-up-and-manage-emergency-access-lp030013




RachelO is a member of the LogMeIn Community Care Team.

Was your question answered? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution.
Was a post helpful or informative? Give it a Kudos!
avinashb
New Contributor

@RachelO  - the link you shared about revoking emergency access [How do I revoke emergency access for a user? - LastPass Support (logmeininc.com)] is about removing a given account not trusted anymore. The article doesn't say anything about what will happen to the folder that was created in the other person's account.

 

Secondly - are you saying that removing a person from "trusted list" of people is the only way to revoke the access they got? That means that if I still trust the person but just want to have the entries that got created in the person's account, I will need to remove them from "trusted list" of people and then re-add them - is that right?

RachelO
Retired GoTo Contributor

Hi @avinashb,

 

That is correct, in order to remove the folder from that user's account you would need to remove them as an Emergency Access trusted user then re-add them, otherwise they will have access to the folder until access is revoked. 




RachelO is a member of the LogMeIn Community Care Team.

Was your question answered? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution.
Was a post helpful or informative? Give it a Kudos!